Have an idea for us? Send us your feedback.

News and Events

Climate Preparedness and Resilience Event

May 13, 2014
Des Moines, IA

The City of Des Moines was selected as one of only four locations in the nation to host a meeting of President Barack Obama’s Task Force on Climate Preparedness and Resilience. The White House: State, Local, and Tribal Leaders Task Force on Climate Preparedness and Resilience Task Force is charged with overhauling federal grant programs and identifying funding sources to better address climate change-related disasters such as droughts, wildfires, floods and storms. The Task Force is made up of 8 governors, 14 mayors, 2 county officials and 2 tribal leaders. The Task Force met May 13th and 14th at the World Food Prize of Laureates.

As a member of the Task Force Mayor Frank Cownie hosted Iowa presentations on local environmental issues and initiatives; breakout sessions, and recommendations to the Task Force from local leaders. Topics are water quality issues, local wind and solar projects, agriculture, disaster preparedness, flooding and prevention, STAR (Sustainability Tools for Accessing and Rating Communities) and community health.

Included below are some of the presentations:

The members of the Task Force are:

State Officials:

  • Governor Neil Abercrombie (HI)
  • Governor Jerry Brown (CA)
  • Governor Eddie Calvo (GU)
  • Governor Jay Inslee (WA)
  • Governor Jack Markell (DE)
  • Governor Martin O’Malley (MD)
  • Governor Pat Quinn (IL)
  • Governor Peter Shumlin (VT)

Local Officials:

  • Mayor Ralph Becker (Salt Lake City, UT)
  • Mayor James Brainard (Carmel, IN)
  • Commissioner Paula Brooks (Franklin County, OH)
  • Supervisor Salud Carbajal (Santa Barbara County, CA)
  • Mayor Frank Cownie (Des Moines, IA)
  • Mayor Bob Dixson (Greensburg, KS)
  • Mayor Eric Garcetti (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Mayor George Heartwell (Grand Rapids, MI)
  • Mayor Kristin Jacobs (Broward County, FL)
  • Mayor Kevin Johnson (Sacramento, CA)
  • Mayor Michael Nutter (Philadelphia, PA)
  • Mayor Annise Parker (Houston, TX)
  • Mayor Patsy Parker (Perdido Beach, AL)
  • Mayor Madeline Rogero (Knoxville, TN)
  • Mayor Karen Weitkunat (Fort Collins, CO)
  • Mayor Dawn Zimmer (Hoboken, NJ)

Tribal Officials:

  • Karen Diver, Chairwoman, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (MN)
  • Reggie Joule, Mayor, Northwest Arctic Borough (AK)

The Task Force is co-chaired by Mike Boots, Acting Chair of the White House Council on Environmental Quality, and David Agnew, White House Director of Intergovernmental Affairs and Deputy Assistant to the President.

Photo gallery